Helping you understand Welsh law

Common land

Common land is land that is owned by someone but which other people are allowed to use in specific ways.

Common land in Wales

Approximately 8.4% of Wales is covered by registered common land amounting to around 175,000 hectares. A number of small commons are adjacent to each other, making up large areas of common land across Wales.  These small commons may have different owners and different rights holders.  

Many commons are important for agriculture in Wales, providing grazing for sheep and cattle.  In addition, many commons are enjoyed for their leisure and environmental interests.  Some common land is situated in National Parks or is owned by the National Trust. 

Common land can provide important habitat for protected birds, wildlife and plants.

The law in relation to Common land is largely governed by the Commons Act 2006

The Commons Act 2006

The Welsh Ministers have responsibility for implementing the 2006 Act in Wales.  Although the 2006 Act does not contain any 'Wales only' provisions it allows Welsh Ministers to act as the 'appropriate national authority' in Wales.

The 2006 Act makes provision about the registration of rights of common to include the deregistration and exchange of common land, the establishment of commons councils as well as other provisions including amendments of the Commons Act 1889. These provisions are largely not yet in force in Wales.

The 2006 Act also deals with the undertaking of restricted works on common land.  In Wales, a person must not, without the Welsh Ministers’ consent, carry out certain restricted works on land which is defined in section 38(5) of the 2006 Act. The 2006 Act sets out the matters to which the Welsh Ministers must have regard in deciding whether to grant consent and makes provision for enforcement powers where works are carried out without consent.

Common Land Registration Authorities

The Commons Registration Act 1965 required each county council to establish a Register of Common Land. They were also required to administer the registration of common land and town and village greens required under the 1965 Act.

Each of the 22 current local authorities in Wales is a Commons Registration Authority and they hold the Registers established under the 1965 Act. They offer support and advice on common land issues and are the first point of contact for the majority of common land queries.

The main functions of Commons Registration Authorities today are to:

  • maintain the registers for public inspection
  • conduct searches of the registers
  • handle applications for amendments to the registers
  • register new town and village greens
  • remove common land from the registers.


There are currently no articles about this topic