Skip to main content

Leasehold valuation tribunals

Leasehold valuation tribunals deal with the following:

  1. Leasehold disputes (to include the right to manage, variable administration charges, forfeiture, insurance, variation of long leases of flats, appointing a manager and estate charges)
  2. Leasehold variable service charges and dispensation with service charges consultation
  3. Leasehold enfranchisement and lease extensions for houses and flats; and
  4. Tenants’ association applications for recognition

The jurisdiction of leasehold valuation tribunals is conferred by the following Acts: the Leasehold Reform Act 1967, the Leasehold Reform, Housing and Urban Development Act 1993, the Commonhold and Leasehold Reform Act 2002 (CLRA 2002), the Landlord and Tenant Act 1987, the Landlord and Tenant Act 1985 and the Housing Act 1996 (this is not an exhaustive list).

Leasehold valuation tribunals are established under section 173 of the CLRA 2002 which provides that jurisdiction conferred on a leasehold valuation tribunal is exercisable by a rent assessment committee constituted in accordance with Schedule 10 to RA 1977. When so constituted a rent assessment committee is known as a leasehold valuation tribunal.

Section 175 of CLRA 2002 provides for appeals from the leasehold valuation tribunal to be made to the Upper Tribunal (Lands Chamber), in certain circumstances.

Section 174 of, and Schedule 12 to, CLRA 2002 are relevant to the procedures of the leasehold valuation tribunal. 

The regulations governing the tribunal are the Leasehold Valuation Tribunals (Procedure) (Wales) Regulations 2004.

Application forms and guidance can be found here. The Leasehold Advisory Service also provides further detailed guidance here. 

Published on
Last updated
12 January 2022