Skip to main content

Fire and rescue services

Fire and rescue services in Wales are provided by three fire and rescue authorities, covering North Wales, Mid and West Wales and South Wales. Their core functions are promoting fire safety, fire-fighting, and responding to road traffic accidents and other emergencies. The Welsh Ministers exercise the majority of the executive powers in relation to fire and rescue services. They set the priorities and objectives for fire and rescue authorities and issue guidance as to how their functions must be exercised.

Published on
Last updated
05 October 2021